Policy Number: III-12
Last Reviewed: April 16, 2019
Responsible Dept.: Human Resources
Office to contact for clarifications: Human Resources
A signed copy of this policy is available in the President’s Office.
To set forth policy in accordance with the Code of Virginia and Virginia Community College Systems.
Child Abuse or Neglect – The Code of Virginia §63.2-100 defines child abuse and neglect as occurring when any child under 18 years of age whose parent(s) or any person responsible for his or her care:
- Causes or threatens to cause a non-accidental physical or mental injury, or allows such injury.
- Allows a child present during the manufacture of a controlled substance or during the unlawful sale of such substance where such activity would constitute a felony violation.
- Neglects or refuses to provide adequate food, clothing, shelter, emotional nurturing, or health care.
- Abandons the child.
- Neglects or refuses to provide adequate supervision given a child’s age and level of development.
- Knowingly leaves a child alone in the same dwelling with a person, not related by blood or marriage, who had been convicted of an offense against a minor for which registration is required as a violent sexual offender.
- Commits or allows to be committed any illegal sexual act upon a child, including incest, rape, indecent exposure, prostitution, or allows a child to be used in any sexually explicit visual material.
Mandated Reporters – College employees are required to report instances of suspected child abuse and neglect to the local Social Services Department or to the Department of Social Services. The Virginia General Assembly (SB 239) added “any person employed by a public or private institution of higher education” to the list of “mandated reporters” set out in §63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia.
All VWCC faculty and staff are mandated reporters. All VWCC employees who, in their official or professional capacity, have reason to suspect a child is an abused or neglected child, are required to report the matter as soon as possible, but not longer than 24 hours after having reason to suspect a reportable offense of child abuse or neglect. Employees can report by contacting any local Social Services Department, the Department of Social Services state-wide toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline (1-800-522-7096), or Campus Police (540-857-7979).
Required employees who fail to file a report as soon as possible, or within 24 hours after having reason to suspect a reportable offense of child abuse or neglect has occurred, may be fined not more than $500 for the first failure and, not less than $1,000 for any subsequent failures. In cases involving certain crimes of sexual assault, an employee who knowingly and intentionally fails to file a report may be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. Employees who make or cause a report to be made of child abuse or neglect that they know to be false may be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
College disciplinary actions commensurate with the severity and/or frequency of the offense will be applied and may include termination of employment. Employees must adhere to and abide by all established applicable policies, law, and procedures.
Code of Virginia §63.2-1509
Code of Virginia §63.2-100
VCCS Policy Manual Section 3
DHRM Policy 1.60 Standards of Conduct
24/7 Student Support Center
TTY: All users 711
3094 Colonial Ave., SW
Roanoke, VA 24015
We use the VW Mass Notification System to immediately contact you during a major crisis or emergency. Get more info and register!