General Information

The Virginia Western Community College Educational Foundation, Inc. is an independent not-for-profit, 501(c)(3) foundation.

Virginia Western Educational Foundation Seal


To drive a thriving culture of innovative support and philanthropy that enables Virginia Western to dramatically transform individual lives, strengthen communities, and advance economic development.


  • Foster lifelong relationships, partnerships and collaborations with all stakeholders
  • Support access to lifelong learning opportunities
  • Attract and soundly steward financial resources
  • Advocate and enact innovative initiatives
  • Enhance awareness of the Foundation and the College

Privacy Policy

The Virginia Western Educational Foundation, Inc. will not sell, trade or share donor’s personal or contact information with any other organization. Donor names may be published in Virginia Western Educational Foundation communication materials and media, unless a donor chooses for his/her name not to be listed and so notes in writing to the Virginia Western Educational Foundation.

Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is comprised of an array of hard-working, committed professional and civic leaders who have a true vision for Virginia Western and its connection to the community.


  • Board Chair: William J. Farrell, II
  • Board Vice Chair: Deborah L. Petrine
  • Board Treasurer: Russ Ellett
  • Board Secretary: Tammy Moss Finley
  • Immediate Past-Chair: Neil D. Wilkin, Jr.
  • Local Board Chair: Joyce Kessinger
  • College President: Robert H. Sandel, Ed.D.

Committee Chairs

  • Chair, Development Committee: Barton “Bart” J. Wilner
  • Chair, Finance & Audit Committee: J. David Wine
  • Chair, Nominating Committee: W. Heywood Fralin
  • Chair, Scholarship & Foundation Grants Committee: Edwin “Ed” C. Hall

At-Large Members

  • Abney S. Boxley, III
  • Chris Carey
  • Nicholas C. Conte
  • David Dantlzer
  • Christopher Desimone, Esq.
  • Russ Ellett
  • W. Heywood Fralin
  • Edwin C. Hall
  • Leon P. Harris
  • Joseph Hoff
  • Rick James, P.E.
  • William J. Lemon
  • George W. Logan
  • Mark R. Pace
  • Andrew J. Parker
  • J. Kenneth Randolph
  • Barton J. Wilner
  • J. David Wine

Directors Ex-Officio

Nicholas F. Taubman

Directors Emeriti

  • G. Len Boone
  • G. Franklin Flippin
  • William H. Fralin, Jr.
  • John R. Francis, Jr.
  • Stanard F. Lanford
  • Elizabeth W. Payne, Ed.D.
  • John B. Williamson, III


Executive Director

Herbert-Ashton, Marilyn
Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Director of Grants and Special Projects and Dean of Nursing
Fishburn Hall F204B


DiMarco, Wanda
Development Operations Assistant
Fishburn Hall

Mansfield, Amanda
Philanthropy Director
Fishburn Hall F214D

Payne, Carolyn
CCAP & Scholarship Program Coordinator
Fishburn Hall F214B

Sorrells, Jill
Foundation Campaign Assistant
Fishburn Hall F214

Tarrant, Carole
Coordinator of Development
Fishburn Hall F214C