Steger to serve as Chairman of Virginia Western Educational Foundation

Virginia Western Community College > News from Virginia Western > Educational Foundation > Steger to serve as Chairman of Virginia Western Educational Foundation

Dr. Charles W. Steger, President Emeritus of Virginia Tech, has been named Chairman of the Virginia Western Community College Educational Foundation Board of Directors for 2016.

Steger joins other local leaders serving as officers of the Educational Foundation: Neil D. Wilkin Jr., Vice Chairman; Dr. Bertram Spetzler, Secretary; William J. Farrell II, Treasurer; and J. Kenneth Randolph, Immediate Past-President. Dr. Robert H. Sandel, president of Virginia Western, and Gerald Burgess, Local Advisory Board Chairman, round out the Board leadership.

The Board of Directors guides the Educational Foundation’s mission of supporting student scholarships, faculty development and capital projects at Virginia Western. Board members have been the driving force behind Virginia Western’s Community College Access Program (CCAP), a successful public-private partnership that provides up to two years of tuition to eligible students.

“Our board members, led by Dr. Steger, are committed to building Virginia Western into a leader of regional economic development,”  said Dr. Angela M. Garcia Falconetti, Executive Director of the Educational Foundation and Vice President of Institutional Advancement at Virginia Western. “Their support is critical as the College approaches its 50th anniversary and makes plans for further expansion.”

Existing at-large members of the Educational Foundation Board are: Nancy Agee, Glen C. Combs, Nick Conte, Steve Cronemeyer, Warner Dalhouse, David Dantzler, Tammy Moss Finley, Byron Randolph Foley, W. Heywood Fralin, J. Spencer Frantz, Edwin C. Hall, Leon P. Harris, Jeffrey A. Marks, Drew Parker, Tom M. Robertson Jr., Garnett E. Smith, Nicholas F. Taubman, J. David Wine and Barton J. Wilner.

News Archives