Student Services :: Transfer Advising

Transfer Advising

Academic advisors in Chapman Hall are available to help students choose the most appropriate program for their long-term goals. Most four-year colleges and universities in Virginia strongly encourage community college students to complete their degree before transferring. 

Associate of Arts (AA) and Associate of Science (AS) degree programs are specifically designed for students who want to transfer to a four-year college or university. VWCC offers programs in Business Administration, Computer Science, Engineering, Fine Arts, General Studies, Health Sciences, Liberal Arts, Science and Social Science.

Associate in Applied Science (AAS) degree programs are primarily designed for students who want to enter directly into the job market. However, some of these programs can also be used to prepare a student to transfer to a four-year college or university.

Old Dominion University maintains an office in Webber Hall on the Virginia Western Community College campus and Radford University maintains an office at the Roanoke Higher Education Center. Both of these institutions offer bachelor's degree programs students can complete without leaving Roanoke.

Click here to view the Policy for Awarding Transfer Credit.


VWCC Alerts

We use VW Alert to immediately contact you during a major crisis or emergency.

Get more info and register