Transfer FAQs

Getting excited and maybe a little anxious about transferring to your four‐year college or university without being able to visit the campus and meet people?

Have questions about whether you should choose a P+ grade or a letter grade for your spring courses?

You are not alone!

The key to making the right transfer decision is to ask questions and use available resources to inform those decisions. This FAQ provides general transfer information, questions to consider prior to transfer, and direct links to colleges and universities providing information on transfer amid the COVID‐19 pandemic.

+ When should I send my VWCC transcript? And how?

Transcripts should be sent with your initial transfer application to your four‐year institution. A final transcript must also be sent to the 4‐year college or university upon completion of your academic program or upon posting of final grades for courses you intend to transfer.

To send your transcript to your four‐year college or university, visit our Transcripts page. If you are sending your final transcript, make sure to indicate on the request you want the transcript sent after final grades are posted and your degree completion is confirmed. For initial applications, you should select to have the transcript sent at the time of application. Reach out to the Records office for additional help.

+ How to determine if you should request letter grades (ABCD) or pass grades (P+/P-) for spring 2020 courses

P+ indicates that you have earned a grade of C or better in the course. A P‐ represents a grade of D which does not transfer nor apply to bachelor’s degree requirements.

These questions can help you determine which grading scale to choose:

  • Will my class transfer and apply to my degree requirements if a grade of P+ is earned in spring 2020?
  • Will a grade of P+ or P‐ be used when calculating my GPA for admissions?
  • How will a grade of P+ impact me if I am applying to a competitive major?
  • How will a grade of P+ impact me if my major requires a grade of B or higher in a course?
  • How will a course with a P grade impact my GAA application? What if the GAA requires a letter grade higher than a C on any course?
  • If I earn a grade of P+ on a course that is a pre‐requisite course for a course in my major, will I still be able to enroll in that course?
  • Do “P” grades impact my eligibility for the Transfer Grant?

+ Questions to help you keep on track for transferring this fall

  • Can I still submit an application for admission to a 4‐year college or university?
  • When will I know if I am accepted at the 4‐year college or university?
  • How will I register for my fall classes at the 4‐year college or university?
  • Is my 4‐year orientation cancelled and if so, what should I do?
  • When will I know if I get housing at the 4‐year college or university?
  • Is it too late to apply for financial aid for the fall term?
  • If my financial status has changed significantly, can I apply for more aid? If so, how?
  • What if I cannot pay my admissions deposit when it is due?
  • Can I request an unofficial evaluation of my transcript to see how credits will apply to my prospective major? If so, how?

Four-Year College and University Outreach

Answers to many of your questions can be found at the links provided below as well as through email outreach to your four‐year institution. Please review provided information using the FAQ link and Transfer webpage prior to emailing the transfer office to help reduce the high volume of emails and allow questions to be answered more quickly.

Army ROTC Transfer Opportunities (PDF)

Most importantly, make sure to get the answers you need to make an informed decision.

InstitutionTransfer FAQ (COVID-related)Transfer WebpageEmail
Bluefield CollegeTransfer to Bluefield College
Bridgewater CollegeTransfer COVID-19 FAQsTransfer Student Admissionsadmissions@bridgewater.edu
Christopher Newport UniversityTransfer Admissiontransfer@cnu.edu
George Mason UniversityFAQs for Admitted Transfer StudentsTransferadmissions@gmu.edu
Hollins UniversityFrequently Asked Questions for Transfer StudentsTransfer Students huadm@hollins.edu
James Madison UniversityCOVID-19 Impact on Spring 2020 SemesterTransfer Applicantsadmissions@jmu.edu
Liberty UniversityTransfer Studentsundergradtransfer@liberty.edu
Longwood UniversityTransfer Students FAQFall 2020 Admissions Updatesadmissions@longwood.edu
Lynchburg UniversityCOVID-19 Transfer FAQsTransfer Students: Next Stepstransfer@lynchburg.edu
MarymountSpring 2020 Transfer ResourcesTransferring Creditsadmissions@marymount.edu
Norfolk State UniversityTransfer FAQs Amid Covid-19 PandemicTransfer Admissions & Servicestransfer@nsu.edu
Old Dominion UniversityTransfer FAQsTransfer Studentstransfercenters@odu.edu
Radford UniversitySpring 2020 Transfer Credit InformationTransfer Studentsadmissons@radford.edu
Randolph CollegeFrequently Asked Questions about Transferring to RandolphTransfer to Randolph Collegepdoss@randolphcollege.edu (Admissions)
ksheldon@randolphcollege.edu (Advising)
Roanoke CollegeAdmissions Coronavirus FAQsTransfer Studentsadmissions@roanoke.edu
Shenandoah UniversityTransfer Studentssutran@su.edu
University of Mary WashingtonTransfer Guidelines for Spring and Summer 2020Transfer to UMWctate@umw.edu
University of Virginia – WiseTransfer Student Guidelines for Spring and Summer 2020 Transferring Courses to Wiseregistrar@uvawise.edu or admissions@uvawise.edu
Virginia Commonwealth UniversityCOVID-19 Transfer FAQTransfer Centertransferinfo@vcu.edu
Virginia TechVirginia Community College Transfer Credit FAQs2020-2021 Transfer Guidetransfercredit@vt.edu
Virginia State UniversityVSU Enrollment Frequently Asked Questions for Fall 2020Application Process – Transfer Studentsadmiss@vsu.edu
William & MarySpring 2020 Transfer InformationTransfer & Test Credittransfercredit@wm.edu (credit)
monica@wm.edu (transfer admission)
Table updated 5/1/20 (Updates will be posted as available to https://tinyurl.com/TransferVA)