Student Life :: Athletics

Women's Basketball

The Virginia Western Rapids Women's Basketball team is an academics-first program that competes in the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) as a member of Region X in Division II. The Rapids play against NJCAA, NCAA, NAIA, and USCAA teams from VA, NC, SC, MD, WV and more.

Projected Fall 2014 practice schedule: Sunday 1:30 PM – 6:00 PM & Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday 6:00 PM – 8:00 PM*

If you are interested in playing, please contact Cecil Cox at ccox@virginiawestern.edu.

Women's Basketball Head Coach: Cecil Cox

Women's Basketball Historical Statistics (PDF)

Home games are played at:
Virginia Western Community College Campus
Humanities Building H100 (Gymnasium)

2014-2015 Schedule

Date

Opponent

Time

Result

Record

Fri, Oct. 17 Rapids Basketball Pep Rally 7:00 PM    
Mon, Oct. 20 Virginia University of Lynchburg (Scrimmage) 6:30 PM    
Sat, Oct. 25 Washington and Lee University (Scrimmage) 3:00 PM    
Sun, Nov. 2 @ Lynchburg College (Scrimmage) 2:00 PM    
Thu, Nov. 6 @ Patrick Henry Community College* 5:30 PM    
Sat, Nov. 8 @ Guilford Technical Community College* 2:00 PM    
Sat, Nov. 15 Wake Technical Community College* 3:00 PM    
Sat, Nov. 22 Cape Fear Community College* 4:00 PM    
Mon, Dec. 1 Bryant and Stratton College* 6:00 PM    
Fri, Dec. 12 Thomas Nelson Community College 6:00 PM    
Sun, Dec. 14 Tidewater Community College* 1:00 PM    
Thu, Dec. 18 @ Lenoir Community College* 4:00 PM    
Sat, Jan. 3 @ Catawba Valley Community College* 3:00 PM    
Sat, Jan. 10 @ Wake Technical Community College* 2:00 PM    
Tue, Jan. 13 Guilford Technical Community College* 7:00 PM    
Sat, Jan. 17 @ Tidewater Community College* 3:00 PM    
Sun, Jan. 18 @ Bryant and Stratton College* 1:00 PM    
Thu, Jan. 22 Patrick Henry Community College* 6:00 PM    
Sun, Jan. 25 Brunswick Community College* 1:00 PM    
Sun, Feb. 1 Lenoir Community College* 2:00 PM    
Sat, Feb. 7 Louisburg College* 5:00 PM    
Sat, Feb. 14 @ Cape Fear Community College* 5:00 PM    
Sun, Feb. 15 @ Brunswick Community College* 1:00 PM    
Fri, Feb. 20 Catawba Valley CC* (Sophomore Night) 6:00 PM    
Sat, Feb. 28 @ Louisburg College* 2:00 PM    
March 4-7 Region X Div. II Tournament TBD    

*Conference Game.

Schedule subject to change. Rankings accurate as of date of contest.

Game Day cancellations will be posted on Student Bulletin.


Womens Basketball Team

Womens Basketball Team 2

Womens Basketball Team 3

Womens Basketball Logo

VWCC

VWCC Alerts

We use VW Alert to immediately contact you during a major crisis or emergency.

Get more info and register